Is Ketchup Gluten-Free?

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy

Wondering if ketchup is gluten-free? We’ve got everything you need to know about buying gluten-free ketchup!

Overhead view of crispy baked sweet potato fries served with ketchup

With summer grilling season approaching, I though today would be the perfect day to talk about one of the most popular condiments around: KETCHUP!

Ketchup is a classic on burgers, hot dogs, french fries, tater tots, and chicken nuggets, but it’s also often an ingredient for things like sloppy joes, baked beans, meatloaf glaze, barbecue sauce, dips, and sauces. If you’re new to a gluten-free diet and don’t want to miss out this summer, you might be wondering “can I eat ketchup if I’m gluten-free?” and I’m happy to tell you YES!

Many brands of ketchup are naturally gluten-free, including the brands you probably grew up with. Let’s jump in and talk about it!

Here’s what you need to know about buying gluten-free ketchup, which brands to try, and more!

three bottles of heinz ketchup on a white background

is Ketchup Gluten-Free?

So, is there gluten in ketchup? Most ketchup is gluten-free, made from naturally gluten-free ingredients like red ripe tomatoes (or tomato concentrate), sugar (or corn syrup or high-fructose corn syrup), distilled vinegar, salt, spices, onion powder, and natural flavorings.

Even though many brands are gluten-free, not all of them go through the certification or labeling process, so it’s good to know what to look for on the label if you don’t see that “certified gluten-free” designation.

To be certified gluten-free, brands must prove through third party testing to meet FDA guidelines and have fewer than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. This is the level considered safe for those with Celiac disease.

INgredients To Watch Out For:

The big things you need to watch out for when buying ketchup are the type of vinegar used, any specialty flavorings, and if there’s a “may contain” statement.

Vinegar In Ketchup

Most distilled vinegar in the united states is derived from corn and is considered gluten-free. The National Celiac Association and the Gluten Intolerance Group both state that distillation renders vinegar gluten-free, as distilling removes gluten.

So, balsamic vinegar, distilled vinegar, apple cider vinegar, white wine vinegar, and red wine vinegar are all considered gluten-free.

The one exception to this rule is malt vinegar. Malt vinegar is NOT distilled, and is made from barley or rye, which contain gluten. If your ketchup is made with malt vinegar, it is NOT gluten-free.

Manufacturing Processes

Then, double-check that there is no “may contain” statement on the nutrition label, such as “manufactured on shared equipment with gluten” or “may contain wheat.”

If a brand or manufacturer doesn’t use a dedicated processing line, facility, or manufacturing processes that prevent cross-contamination and cross-contact with gluten, these statements can be a flag that a gluten-sensitive person or someone with Celiac could react to their product.

a bottle of heinz ketchup on a white background

Which Brands Of Ketchup Are Gluten-Free?

Now that we know what ingredients to watch out for when buying ketchup, let’s talk about gluten-free ketchup brands! You’ll be pleased to know that LOTS of these brands are popular, affordable, and easy to find, with all the classic taste you love.

Certified Gluten-Free Ketchup Brands:

The following brands are certified gluten-free and contain fewer than 20ppm of gluten:

  1. Heinz Ketchup – Original Heinz, Simply Heinz, Organic Heinz,
  2. Annie’s Organic Ketchup. Annie’s is tested to be gluten-free (under 20ppm).
  3. French’s Ketchup.
  4. Sir Kensington
  5. Organicville Ketchup
  6. Walden Farms Ketchup

Other Gluten-Free Ketchup Brands

In addition to all the certified gluten-free ketchup brands above, the brands below have “gluten-free” on their label or a similar designation that can make them a good choice depending on your sensitivity. (For the safest option, choose from the brands in the certified gluten-free list above)

  • Hunts Ketchup – website states it is free from the top 8 major allergens.
  • Great Value Ketchup (Walmart store brand) – labeled gluten-free on the package
  • Primal Kitchen Unsweetened Ketchup (Paleo & Whole30 approved)
  • The New Primal Noblemade Less Sugar Ketchup
  • Thrive Market Ketchup – labeled gluten-free, non-gmo, and vegan
  • Market Pantry Ketchup (Targe store brand) – Does not contain any of the 8 major allergens
  • Good & Gather Organic Ketchup (Target store brand) – does not contain any of the 8 major allergens
  • Kroger Original Tomato Ketchup – Labeled as a gluten-free food on the company website
homemade meatloaf with mashed potatoes and green beans

FAQ + Tips And Tricks For Buying Gluten-Free Ketchup:

Is Heinz Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Heinz is the most popular brand of ketchup in the United States, and thankfully their products are gluten-free! Their company info states that even the vinegar they use is derived from corn, not wheat or other grains.

Here are a few gluten-free varieties of Heinz ketchup:

  • Heinz Tomato Ketchup (classic ketchup)
  • Heinz Organic Ketchup
  • Simply Heinz Ketchup (which uses cane sugar and no artificial sweeteners)
  • Heinz Sriracha Ketchup
  • Heinz Jalapeño Ketchup
  • Heinz Honey-Sweetened Ketchup

Some of their other varieties aren’t labeled gluten-free, but are made from gluten-free ingredients. These include Heinz No Sugar Added ketchup, Heinz No Salt Added Ketchup, and Heinz Hot & Spicy Ketchup.

Is Hunts Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Hunts ketchup is made from gluten-free ingredients but is not labeled as gluten-free. This likely means they haven’t undergone the testing and labeling process (which can be time-consuming and expensive for brands). However, their website states that their Hunts Tomato Ketchup and Hunts 100% Natural Tomato Ketchup do not contain any major allergens.

Is Great Value Ketchup Gluten-Free?

Walmart ketchup (Great Value Brand) is labeled gluten-free! It doesn’t have the certified gluten-free sticker, but it has

Check Those Labels!

The safest option for gluten-free ketchup is to choose a certified gluten-free brand. The next best choice is a brand with a gluten-free label.

As always, double-check the labels of the products you’re buying, as brands regularly reformulate their products or release new flavors and varieties. (Get more clarity on the difference between labeled gluten free and certified gluten-free here)

PS – Now that you know it’s gluten-free, try adding ketchup to your favorite burger! Classic beef burger, a juicy chicken buger, lamb burger and more!

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *