Is Dijon Mustard Gluten-Free? (These Brands ARE!)

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our disclosure policy

Wondering if dijon mustard is gluten-free? From ingredients to brands that are gluten-free, we’re breaking down everything you need to know!

spoon scooping dijon mustard out of a jar

Back today with another quick gluten-free tip!

Just like finding the best gluten-free spaghetti noodles or figuring out if ketchup is gluten-free, we want to make everyday cooking easier for gluten-free friends and family! Today’s tip is all about Dijon mustard.

Whether you’re adding it to salad dressings (like Caesar Dressing or Honey Mustard Dressing), using it for a marinade, ham glaze, dip, or sauce, adding flavor to vegetables, stews, or simply adding some to a burger, hot dogs, or a sandwich, it’s great to know which brands of Dijon mustard are gluten-free!

Here’s what you need to know about gluten-free dijon mustard…

spoon scooping dijon mustard out of a jar

What Is Dijon Mustard?

Dijon mustard is a traditional French-style mustard named after the town Dijon in Burgandy, France. It’s been around for literal centuries and is known for it’s punchy, bright flavor. It’s more muted in color than basic yellow mustard, and is typically more spicy.

Originally Dijon mustard was made from verjuice (an acidic juice made from unripe grapes), and mustard seed, but the Dijon mustard you’ll find in grocery stores these days is made from white wine and/or white wine vinegar, water, salt, and brown or black mustard seeds.

Dijon mustard is often sold in two main varieties. Traditional Dijon mustard (smooth) and grainy dijon mustard, which leaves most or all of the mustard seeds whole for a more rustic, robust texture. (Learn more about all the different types of mustard here.)

Overhead view of the best honey mustard dressing or dip

Is Dijon Mustard Gluten-Free?

The short answer is that yes, most dijon mustard is gluten-free and safe for people with Celiac disease or those following a gluten-free diet. The basic ingredients–things like brown mustard seeds, white wine or white wine vinegar, horseradish, salt, etc.–are naturally gluten-free.

Even though Dijon mustard is made without gluten-containing ingredients, there are a few things to keep an eye out for!

What To Watch Out For

Not all Dijon mustard brands and companies use safe production procedures or undergo testing to determine if they are truly gluten-free and free from cross contamination. To be certified gluten-free, brands of mustard must prove through third party testing to meet FDA guidelines and have fewer than 20 ppm (parts per million) of gluten. This is the level considered safe for those with Celiac disease.

If you can’t find a brand labeled gluten-free, you’ll need to use your best judgement. The big things you need to watch out for when buying dijon mustard are the type of vinegar used, any specialty flavorings, and if there’s a “may contain” statement. (such as “may contain wheat” or “produced on shared equipment,” etc.)

Keep an eye on the source of vinegar in the ingredient statement. Avoid products that use malt vinegar, which is made from barley and contains gluten. Additionally, some brands of Dijon-style mustard use beer or spirit vinegars, which can contain gluten.

three brands of gluten-free dijon mustard lined up in a row

Gluten-Free Brands Of Dijon Mustard

So which Dijon mustard is gluten-free? As I mentioned above, while many (or even most) brands of dijon mustard are made from gluten-free ingredients, not all of them use manufacturing processes that are considered safe from cross-contamination (like using the same equipment to process products that contain gluten).

The best way to avoid getting sick is to keep an eye out for labeled gluten-free options. The list of brands below includes only brands that are labeled “gluten-free” or “certified gluten-free” to meet the FDA standards of fewer than 20 ppm of gluten. (Good news: many popular brands and gourmet brands are on this list!)

  • Organicville – Certified gluten-free
  • Annie’s Organic – gluten-free (our favorite!)
  • Boar’s Head – gluten-free (check out their allergen statement here)
  • Edmond Fallot
  • French’s – The bottle is not labeled, but the company’s allergy statement says it’s gluten-free
  • Koops’ – labeled gluten-free (includes all varieties from Dijon, to Arizona heat, to spicy brown)
  • Maille – labeled gluten-free
  • Noblemade – certified gluten-free
  • Sir Kensington’s – certified gluten-free and certified vegan
  • Thrive Market – certified gluten-free

You can even make your own mustard at home with this Dijon mustard recipe, which can guarantee that it’s gluten-free!

Which Brand of Dijon Mustard Is Best For Celiac Disease?

If you are highly sensitive to gluten or have allergies, the safest brand of Dijon mustard is Organicville organic Dijon mustard. They’re certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO), which requires products have fewer than 10ppm (which is even stricter than FDA standards!). As an added bonus it’s also Non-GMO, Whole30-approved, Paleo, Vegan, and Kosher. Thrive Market Brand is also certified gluten-free, paleo & Whole30!

We can find Organicville products at Kroger (Fry’s), Whole Foods, Natural Grocers, or online at Vitacost and Amazon.

a bottle of Grey Poupon dijon mustard on a white background

FAQ + Tips For Buying Gluten-Free Dijon Mustard:

Always Double Check! While we do our absolute best to promote the most up-to-date information, brands regularly reformulate, source, or produce their products in new ways. We recommend checking product labels before purchase and periodically checking in with individual brand websites to make sure you have the most up to date allergen information and product information.

What’s The Most Mild Dijon Mustard? Our favorite is Annie’s Organic dijon mustard. It’s got a smooth, creamy texture and more mild flavor than some brands (like Maille and Grey Poupon). It’s delicious dijon mustard, especially for people who don’t want *too* much kick. 

Is Grey Poupon Dijon mustard gluten-free? Probably. Grey Poupon is owned by Kraft, who does an excellent job labeling potential allergens in their products. While the company has not been certified or labeled gluten-free, Kraft typically discloses potential allergens (including cross-contamination) on their products.

Is Maille dijon mustard gluten-free? Yes! There’s a gluten-free label right on the bottle, which makes it a great option.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *